Les costumes des grand père

Collage03

When my grandfather passed away, he left me his entire wardrobe knowing that I would find that as something important, interesting and borderline spiritual.
There where nine suits in that collection and they are what intrigue me the most. The first thing I did was to collect items from his surroundings and try to distill a visual impression for the re-made suits.

I have the phonebook of the village, pebbles from the driveway, his milkjug and sofa cushions – and stories, I have the stories.

Collage01Some find it morbid to surround oneself with things that once belonged to family members, which I can understand. Was I not in a semi-nomad state, in other countries and certainly very other places that my grandfather, then I might feel the same. But as it is, it gives me a sense of grounding and home away from birthplace.

What I make out of the pieces has varied over time, and I suspect it still will. There is certainly a sense in which I looked at the suits with a both sentimental and utilitarian eye when I just got them, where as now it is more the eye of inquisitive curiosity.

This entry was written by Alice Holmberg and published on August 20, 2012 at 6:10 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

